Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Here. Thinking about one more Renault... '85 Encore...

Default New Here. Thinking about one more Renault... '85 Encore...

I'm no stranger to odd cars.

My dad had an R4 and a 4CV when I was a kid. He had a Peugeot 504 after Peugeot left the US market. He had a Le Car briefly in the early 90s. And I've been driving oddballs myself for 20+ years.

So my dad is currently driving a '93 Altima that's wearing out, and I know he yearns for something oddball to replace it. And he only ever drives about 10 miles twice per week and less than 2 miles a day the rest of the time.

My mom found an old lady who has an '85 Encore S that she says has less than 100,000 miles on it. It runs. It just needs an alternator and she has been told that alternators (like all parts for an Encore) are unavailable anywhere.

So...

My questions...

Is that the case?

How hard is it to find parts?

I know the local junkyard doesn't have any at the moment, but I'm sure I've seen a few alliances there in the last few months. I still see one on the road now and then in Albuquerque.

Oreilly says they can get an alternator for the 1.4, but I checked the VIN and this car is a 1.7, and Oreilly doesn't show anything for a 1.7.

It's a New Mexico car and the paint is faded, but the body looks awesome from what I saw. That is often the case in NM where there's no road salt used.

I think it would really make my dad happy to tinker with it.

But is it just going likely going to be heartbreak and frustration finding parts.

Or does it just mean buying online somewhere or improvising with parts from something else?

Like on my Datsun it was a pretty easy mod to put a GM alternator on it. There was hardly any wiring, the mount just needed to be customized and a GM tension bracket used... But IDK how electronic the Encores were - would using a different alternator cause issues with the fuel injection?